New Chair and Deputy Chair for Mid and West Wales Fire and Rescue Authority

A new Chair and Deputy Chair have been elected to lead Mid and West Wales Fire and Rescue Authority over the next two municipal years.

At the Fire Authority’s Annual General Meeting on Monday, June 12th, 2023, Councillor Gwynfor Thomas of Powys was elected Chair and Councillor John Davies of Pembrokeshire was elected Deputy Chair.

Councillor Gwynfor Thomas joined the Fire Authority in June 2020 and takes over from Councillor Elwyn Williams of Carmarthenshire.  Cllr Thomas has 13 years’ experience as a Powys Councillor, has previously served as Chair of Powys County Council and is currently Chair of the Powys Learning and Skills Scrutiny Committee.  As well as his background as a business owner in the hospitality and agriculture industries, Councillor Thomas is a Trustee of the DPJ Foundation and Deytheur Educational Foundation.  He is also School Governor at Ysgol Llanfyllin and Ysgol Llansantffraid and former President and Chair of Montgomery RFC.

Commenting on his appointment as Fire Authority Chair, Councillor Thomas said:

“I am thrilled to have been appointed Chair of the Fire Authority.  I look forward to the task of providing good governance to an emergency service that so deserves it, which will in turn provide the communities it serves with a service and the protection that can be trusted and relied upon.”

Councillor Davies has served as a Pembrokeshire County Councillor representing Cilgerran since 1999, working as Leader of Pembrokeshire County Council from 2004-2012.  Councillor Davies has been Chair of the Board of Directors of the Royal Welsh Agricultural Society since 2012 and was awarded Fellowship of the Royal Agricultural Societies of the UK in 2015.  From 2010-2018, Councillor Davies completed two terms as a member of the S4C Authority and is a former High Sheriff of Dyfed, he still spends much of his spare time as Chairman of the High Sheriff of Dyfed Trust Fund.

On his appointment as Fire Authority Deputy Chair, Councillor Davies said:

“It is a privilege and an honour to serve as Deputy Chair of such a highly regarded and trusted emergency service.  I will endeavour, along with the Chair, to support the values and objectives that deliver at the hour of need.”

Mid and West Wales Fire and Rescue Service serves Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire, Ceredigion, Swansea, Powys and Neath Port Talbot. The Service covers some 4,500 square miles - almost two-thirds of the landmass of Wales - and provides public safety information, prevention and protection programmes as well as emergency response to a population of over 900,000 people.  The Service runs 58 fire stations and employs over 1,350 members of staff.